Rob Moose Announces New EP Featuring Phoebe Bridgers, Bon Iver, Brittany Howard, and More

“I Bend but Never Break” is the lead single from the yMusic co-founder’s Inflorescence EP
Rob Moose
Rob Moose, photo by Julia and Aaron Robbs

Rob Moose—the violinist and yMusic co-founder who has worked with the National, Taylor Swift, Paul Simon, FKA twigs, and many others—has announced a new EP. Moose’s Inflorescence EP is out August 11 and it includes collaborations with Phoebe Bridgers, Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon, and others. The EP’s first single, “I Bend but Never Break,” features Alabama Shakes’ Brittany Howard. Find the Maxwell Addae–directed video for the new track below.

“I wrote ‘I Bend but Never Break’ during a trying time where I felt like all I could do was ask for strength externally,” Brittany Howard remarked in a statement. “I felt tapped out. The world can feel out of control sometimes and terrifying. I wanted to imagine the song as a lifeline to what goodness and positivity exists during those feelings of overwhelm.”

“I’ve only worked on a handful of songs with Brittany, but she’s made an outsize impact on my artistry,” Moose added. “When the opportunity arose to make my own artist project, I knew Brittany had to be a part of it.”

Revisit Pitchfork’s review of Copycat Killer, the EP that Rob Moose made with Phoebe Bridgers.

Inflorescence EP:

01 I Bend But Never Break [ft. Brittany Howard]
02 Can Only Be Love [ft. Emily King]
03 Marvel Room [ft. Bon Iver]
04 Wasted [ft. Phoebe Bridgers]
05 Extract [ft. Sara Bareilles]